Star Wars: Yoda Knows the Rule of Two?

I have been a huge Star Wars fan for most of my adult life. I remember watching the VHS tapes of the original trilogy over and over again. I went to the movie theaters for the next to movies. I have played the computer games almost religiously. I have a burning love for the series, but like many fans, I have an issue or two. That is always the case, and I am not saying that because have these issues that the series must change to accommodate me, but explanation is required. I have finished the Clone Wars series on Netflix and was confused about the last episode. Specifically, I was confused about Yoda’s encounter with Darth Bane.

A .little explanation for those who might need it. Darth Bane is a Sith Lord from a thousand years ago that found the Sith to be weak when in too many numbers. After all the Sith but himself were destroyed, he hid himself and his new apprentice and created the Rule of Two. The rule stated that there would only be two Sith in all the galaxy, a master who had the power, and the apprentice to learn and eventually kill the Master. This was to both keep the Sith strong and make it easy to hide their presence from the Jedi until they were ready to strike. This rule proved to be true when Darth Sidious and Darth Vader (Anakin Skywalker) rose to rule the Galactic Empire.

Now here comes my issue. For a thousand years, the Jedi believed the Sith to be extinct. Now I have seen that there is a story that showed that the Sith revealed themselves for a short time and then returned to hiding, but hers the issue that was caused by the last episode. When Yoda encounters the spirit, he not only knows who he is, but knows exactly what the Rule of Two. My question is….HOW?! Now the Jedi from a thousand years ago did encounter Bane and his apprentice but I was under the impression that all that did were dead and that’s why the Jedi thought the Sith extinct. They killed a healer made mad and thought him to be Sith, so they assumed all Sith were gone. So in short., Yoda would not know him. Second of all, Yoda could not know about the Rule of Two. True, many Sith in the past, three or four thousand years ago would only train one apprentice, but this was never the official rule, that everyone had to do this, and the last incarnation of the Sith was the Dark Brotherhood, which practiced much like the Jedi. Many masters would train multiple apprentices the ways of the Dark side. So this would be the freshest in their minds. Even if they knew about the Sith still being in the galaxy, it is unreasonable to assume that the Jedi would think they reverted to the system that they had not used in recent, a thousand years being recent, memory. Not knowing the facts about the new Sith, they would have to logically go on what they know, not guess. It would make no sense to simply take a shot in the dark. Jedi operate on facts, not assumptions, especially someone like Yoda.

Master Yoda would not a. instinctively know that the Sith have been training only one apprentice at a time and b. he would not know of Darth Bane. Now I understand this was for the sake of the audience, young kids who probably did not know of Darth Bane, but there are easier ways to explain that. Yoda could have no idea what he is talking about, and Darth Bane to EXPLAIN WHO HE IS and EXPLAIN THE RULE OF TWO. Now am I just being to critical? Perhaps, but at the same time I need to be alert to logic flaws and as an invested fan tell the writers of this series and hope they can offer a logical solution. Now I have other thoughts on the Rule of Two, being as awesome as it is, but I will save that for later.

Leave a comment